Winnipeg food council members appointed

Rob Moquin, Policy Manager at Food Matters Manitoba, holds a microphone and sign that reads "Winnipeg Food Council"
Project: Food Policy

On Wednesday, June 21st, Winnipeg City Council appointed ten members to the first ever Winnipeg Food Council. The new members will join Mayor Brian Bowman and one representative from Winnipeg City Council to sit on the council.  This move in Winnipeg is a big step towards a city where everyone can get the good food they need.

We are happy to congratulate the first ten members of the Winnipeg Food Council:

Lavonne Harms, representative nominated by the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

Jasmine Tara, citizen-at-large member

Joyce Slater, representative from the research sector

Rob Moquin, representative from a community group or network

Phaedra Miller, representative nominated by the Province of Manitoba

Andi Sharma, citizen-at-large member

Mandela Madit Kuet, citizen-at-large member

James Battershill, representative involved with food production

Bruce Berry, representative involved with food production

Kelly Janz, representative involved with food business

Thank you to everyone who supported getting the Winnipeg Food Council motion passed at City Hall on February 22nd. After 9 years of community work to get here, we are thrilled to see the council in place and look forward to tackling issues related to food in our city in a new way.


Related links:

The Future of Food in Winnipeg

Winnipeg Food Council will work Toward Enhancing Access to Local, Affordable, and Healthy Food

Winnipeg Food Council on the Horizon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *